Setting Up Your First Project

Planscope projects are tailored to help you do a few core things that you and your clients are going to love:

  1. Organize tasks that need to be completed for a project to be finished.
  2. Allow everyone to communicate and collaborate around tasks (e.g., post comments, upload files such as screenshots or mockups.)
  3. Track how much time is spent on each task, and how much budget remains for the project.
  4. Make it easy for you and your clients to approve or request changes to work that's been completed.

Creating a project

Then you create a project (by clicking + at the top right of your screen), there are a few things we're going to ask you:

  1. Are you linking this project to any of our support third party invoicing tools? (If so, we'll make it a one-click operation to bridge your Planscope project with the corresponding project in your invoicing tool.)
  2. What's the name of this project?
  3. How do you bill this project?
  4. Is it currently an estimate, or are you ready to start work on it?

Getting around your project

nce you've created either a project or an estimate, you'll be brought to your project page. You'll notice that along the top of the screen runs the navigation menu. From here, you can quickly jump around from: 

  • Tasks - This is where you'll be working on your project the majority of the time
    • Todo - These are the milestones and tasks that are waiting to be completed (or are being worked on now)
    • In Review - Once you have tasks that are "in review" (that is, waiting for feedback from your client), they'll be available here to quickly jump through.
    • Approved - Tasks show in this filter when they have been approved by the client or marked "done" by a team member
    • All Tasks - An unfiltered view of the tasks
    • My Tasks - Only the tasks that are assigned to you show up when this filter is selected
  • Reports - This is where you'll find the "Time and Financials", your project "Workload", and the completion time "Projections" reports.
  • Manage - Add people to your project (both clients and team members), adjust your rate, and archive, delete, export, or rename your project, and manage Task Groups.
  • Updates - Not shown above, but off to the far right of the menu. All activity around your project. New tasks, changes to tasks, time logs, and comments are available in one easy-to-review list.

Adding your first task

The first thing you'll probably do is add a task. 

Click the green "+ Add" button under the Tasks tab, and enter in a name for your task. Optionally assign it to a Task Group (you likely don't have one yet — but you can create one on the fly), a milestone (again, you probably don't have one yet), and then a time estimate for the task.

Now just hit enter (or click the green "+ Add Task" button), and you'll have your first task. We've put the cursor right back in the task name field, so you can rapid fire add your next task. And your next...

After adding a few tasks, you'll be ready to start prioritizing them (move your mouse over a task, and drag it to one of the dashed lines — or slots — and drop.)

Tracking time (and making money!)

Here's where things get fun, and where Planscope really shines compared to all the other collaborative task management tools out there.

Any team member on a project can quickly start and stop a task timer. When a timer is running, we'll log the time you've spent on a particular task  and chip away at the project budget (more on this in a second.)

To start a timer, click the "Start" button on a task.  The task will turn green, and you'll notice two numbers on the right side of the task. The first is the total time logged in hours, which will say 0.0 at first. The next is the estimated time for the task. If you had a task that was estimated at 5 hours, and you left a timer running for two and a half hours, you'd see: 2.5h / 5.0h

Adding your first milestone

A project milestone is a way to divide a project into multiple chunks. Each milestone can have it's own budget and due date.

Tasks fall into a milestone based on how they're prioritized. Any tasks  below a milestone (until the next milestone) are considered a part of that milestone. In the above scenario, tasks A, B, and C are a part of Milestone #1. D and E are in Milestone #2.

ntil you have a milestone with a budget added, the Budget bar in the right sidebar won't be available. At one glance, you can see how the progress stacks up against the budget of either a particular milestone or the project as a whole. 

Getting others involved (your clients and team members)

Awesome! So you have a few tasks and milestones loaded up, and you're ready to get your clients (and your team, if you have one) involved.

To add a client... Click "Manage", and click "Add New Client or Team Member" under the "People involved on this project" section. Type in their email address, ensure "This person is a client" is selected, and invite your client.

They'll get an email invitation asking them to join this project. Once they click the invitation link in the email and setup their account (we ask for their name and to set a password), your client will have access to  just this project.

To add a team member... Click "Manage", and click "Add New Client or Team Member" under the "People involved on this project" section. Type in their email address, ensure "This person is a team member or subcontractor" is selected, and click "Invite To Project".

The account owner can also add a new team member from the Dashboard, under the "Team" tab, by clicking the green "+ Add member" button.

They'll get an email invitation asking them to join this project. Once they click the invitation link in the email and setup their account (we ask for their name and to set a password), this person will have access to all of your projects by default. You can remove

Sending updates to your clients

Think of a task in review as a task that your client is now responsible for. A task in review doesn't necessarily mean it's complete — it just means you're looking for some feedback from your clients.

o send a group of tasks to your client for review, start by holding down the Shift key and then left-clicking each task (not on the task name--that'll open it) you want to send over for their review. The tasks will turn blue when they are selected: 

Then, click the green "Send to review" button in the navigation. That will give you the chance to send them a message with your request for a review. 

Project_update

We'll also take care of optionally sending out a daily email report to your clients that lists out any and all project updates for the day.

Planscope makes it easy for you to send updates to your clients and add tasks to the review queue. Say goodbye to those "I have some updates..." emails or phone calls!